100 Towns: The List

Little Minnesota

Here is a list of the cities of Little Minnesota, all incorporated and with a mayor and council.  At some time before or in 2010, all of these towns had their population slip under 100.  Eighteen have now climbed over that mark and one, Tenney, has unincorporated.  Others may have dropped below 100 since we completed the book.

Aldrich:  Wadena County

Arco:  Lincoln County

Barry:  Big Stone County

Bejou:  Mahnomen County

Beltrami:  Polk County

Bena:  Cass County

Borup:  Norman County

Boy River:  Cass County

Brookston:  St. Louis County

Cedar Mills:  Meeker County

Cobden:  Brown County

Comstock:  Clay County

Correll:  Big Stone County

Danvers:  Swift County

Delhi:  Redwood County

Denham:  Pine County

Donaldson:  Kittson County

Doran:  Wilkin County

Dovray:  Murray County

Dundee:  Nobles County

Effie:  Itasca County

Evan:  Brown County

Farwell:  Pope County

Federal Dam:  Cass County

Florence:  Lyon County

Fort Ripley:  Crow Wing County

Funkley:  Beltrami County

Genola:  Morrison County

Goodridge:  Pennington County

Gully:  Polk County

Hadley:  Murray County

Halma:  Kittson County

Hatfield:  Pipestone County

Hazel Run:  Yellow Medicine County

Heidelberg:  Le Seur county

Henriette:  Pine County

Hillman:  Morrison County

Holt:  Marshall County

Humboldt:  Kittson County

Ihlen:  Pipestone County

Iron Junction:  St. Louis County

Johnson:  Big Stone County

Kenneth:  Rock County

Kerrick:  Pine County

Kinbrae:  Nobles County

Lake Henry:  Stearns County

La Salle:  Watonwan County

Lastrup:  Morrison County

Lengby:  Polk County

Leonard:  Clearwater County

Leonidas:  St. Louis County

Louisburg:  Lac Qui Parle

Manchester:  Freeborn County

Manhattan Beach:  Crow Wing County

McGrath:  Aitkin County

McKinley:  St. Louis County

Minneiska:  Wabasha/Winona

Mizpah:  Koochiching County

Myrtle:  Freeborn County

Nashua:  Wilkin County

Nassua:  Lac Qui Parle

Nielsville:  Polk County

Nimrod:  Wadena County

Norcross:  Grant County

Odessa:  Big Stone County

Perley:  Norman County

Regal:  Kandiyohi County

Revere:  Redwood County

Richville:  Otter Tail County

Sargeant:  Mower County

Seaforth:  Redwood County

Sedan:  Pope County

Solway:  Beltrami County

Spring Hill:  Stearns County

Squaw Lake:  Itasca County

St. Anthony:  Stearns County

St. Leo:  Yellow Medicine County

St. Rosa:  Stearns County

St. Vincent:  Kittson County

Strandquist:  Marshall County

Strathcona:  Roseau County

Sunburg:  Kandiyohi County

Tamarack:  Aitkin County

Taopi:  Mower County

Tenney:  Wilkin County     DISSOLVED November 2011

Tintah:  Traverse County

Trail:  Polk County

Turtle River:  Beltrami County

Urbank:  Otter Tail County

Viking:  Marshall County

Vining:  Otter Tail County

Walters:  Faribault County

Wanda:  Redwood County

West Union:  Todd County

Westport:  Pope County

Whalan:  Fillmore County

Wilder:  Jackson County

Wolf Lake:  Becker County

Wright:  Carlton County

Zemple:  Itasca County


46 CITIES STILL HAD A POST OFFICE as of November, 2011.  Some of those have closed, and others are slated for closure in the next year.


First to incorporate:

1)  Minnieska 1857

2)  St. Vincent 1857

3)  Aldrich 1871

4)  Whalan 1876

5)  Taopi 1878


Last to incorporate:

1)  Borup 1951

2)  Sunburg 1951

3)  Cedar Mills 1950

4)  Trail 1950

5)  Wolf Lake 1949

Leave a Reply